IECEx Scheme

Date:2010年8月9日 15:17

The IECEx Scheme (International Trade of Electrical Equipment used in Explosive Atmospheres) is an outgrowth of the CB Scheme, or the Scheme of the IECEE – the International Electrotechnical Commission System for Mutual Recognition of Results of Testing of Electrical Equipment – and offers U.S. manufacturers an opportunity to increase global marketability.


The IECEx Scheme facilitates the international exchange and acceptance of product-safety test results among participating laboratories for national approval or certification in one or more countries, normally without the need for additional testing. This is a universal goal among suppliers, consumers, and interested parties stated as “one standard, one test, accepted everywhere.”


The objective of the IECEx Scheme is to facilitate international trade in electrical equipment intended for use in explosive atmospheres (referred to as Ex equipment).


The Ex scheme applies to manufacturers of:

Electrical apparatus for explosive gas atmospheres

Electrical apparatus for the detection and measurement of flammable gases

Electrical products such as switches, outlets and outlet boxes, circuit breakers, electric motors, and lighting used in hazardous environments

According to the IEC, these manufacturers can expect:

 Reduced testing and certification costs

Reduced time to market

International confidence in the product assessment process

One international database listing

There are currently 17 Accepted Certification Bodies (ACBs) in 22 countries participating in the IECEx Scheme as follows:

Australia (Standards Australia)

Canada (Canadian National Committee (CNC/IEC))

China (Chinese National Committee of the IEC CSBTS)

Denmark (Dansk Standard)

Finland (Finnish Electrotechnical Standards Association SESKO)

France (Laboratories Central des Industries Electriques LCIE)

Germany (Deutsches Komitee der IEC)

Hungary (Hungarian Standard Institution)

Italy (CEI - Comitato Elettrotecnico Italiano)

Korea (IECEx Council of the Republic of Korea)

Netherlands (Netherlands National Committee of the IEC)

Norway (Norsk Elektroteknisk Komite (NEK))

New Zealand (Standards New Zealand)


Russia (The Gosstandart of Russia (GOST))

Slovenia (Slovenian Institute of Quality and Metrology)

South Africa (South African Bureau of Standards (SABS))

Sweden (SEK)

Switzerland (Electrosuisse)

United Kingdom (British Electrotechnical Committee)

United States of America (US National Committee of the IECEx)

Yugoslavia (Federal Institution for Standardisation)

More information about the IECEx scheme can be obtained from the official IECEx website. The administration of the IECEx scheme is governed by the IECEx Rules which are available for free from the above website

TypeInfo: Technical Resoureces

Keywords for the information: